Tomorrow is National Hunting & Fishing Day. Have a marvelous time in the great outdoors. Just a short word for those who plan to be on the water, please remember that in North Carolina boaters are held to the same alcohol limit as drivers.
Officers from the N.C. Wildlife Resources Commission will be out in force tomorrow. Here’s a vid from them about the Booze It & Lose It campaign.
Please also bear in mind the following rules to help keep tomorrow fun, not tragic.
WEAR A LIFE VEST – North Carolina law requires children younger than 13 to wear an appropriate life vest whenever they are on a recreational vessel that is underway; and, it is recommended for everyone.
BLUE LIGHT=NO WAKE – All watercraft must slow to a no wake speed when passing within 100 feet of a patrol boat displaying a flashing blue light. In narrow channels, watercraft must slow to a no wake speed within 50 feet.
MANDATORY BOATING EDUCATION LAW – Anyone younger than 26 operating a vessel powered by a 10 horsepower or greater motor on public waterways must have successfully completed an approved boating safety education course or otherwise be in compliance.
For more information on boating safety, regulations and title and registration, go to the Boating and Waterways section of the NC Wildlife webpage.
Source: NC Wildlife Resources Commission